Fair Agenda Blog

The 103 candidates who have signed up to Fair Agenda’s pro-choice pledge are willing to be champions on this issue. To win this – we need to make sure others are willing to step up and join them. We won’t be able to do that if all our pro-choice champions are hearing is backlash.

Can you help show pro-choice champions they’ve got community support, by sending them a quick email to thank them for taking the pledge?

Send all our pro-choice champions an email thanking them for taking the pro-choice pledge by bcc'ing all the email addresses.

Who has taken the Fair Agenda pledge so far?

Electorate Candidate Email Party affiliation
Aspley James Hansen james.hansen@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Bancroft Simone Dejun simone.dejun@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Bancroft Chris Whiting MP Murrumba@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Barron River Cameron Boyd cameron.boyd@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Bonney Rowan Holzberger Rowan.Holzberger@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Bonney Amin Javanmard amin.javanmard@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Broadwater Daniel Kwon daniel.kwon@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Buderim Tracy Burton office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Bulimba Felicity Jodell office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Bundaberg Leanne Donaldson bundaberg@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Bundamba Michelle Duncan michelle.duncan@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
McMaster / Burdekin Mathew Bing office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Burleigh Peter Burgoyne peter.burgoyne@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Burnett Tim Roberts office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Cairns Michael Healy michael.healy@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Cairns Aaron McDonald aaron.mcdonald@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Cairns Rob Pyne cairns@parliament.qld.gov.au Independent
Callide Jaiben Baker office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Caloundra Marcus Finch office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Capalaba Don Brown capalaba@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Capalaba Joshua Sanderson office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Chatsworth Dave Nelson david.nelson@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Clayfield Philip Anthony Philip.Anthony@queenslandlabor.org.au
Australian Labor Party
Condamine Steven Thomas office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Coomera Tayla Kerwin office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Cooper Reece Walters reece.walters@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Currumbin David Wyatt david.wyatt@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Everton David Greene david.greene@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Everton Bridget Clinch office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Ferny Grove Elizabeth World elizabeth.world@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Gaven Sally Spain sally.spain@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Gladstone Peta Baker office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Glass House Sue Weber sue.weber@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Greenslopes Victor Huml victor.huml@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Gregory Norman Weston office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Gregory Dave Kerrigan Dave.Kerrigan@queenslandlabor.org.au
Australian Labor Party
Hill Johanna Kloot johanna.kloot@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Hinchinbrook Lyle Burness office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Inala Navdeep Singh nav.singh@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Ipswich Brett Morrissey brett.morrissey@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Ipswich West Keith Muller keith.muller@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Jordan Steven Purcell steven.purcell@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Kawana Annette Spendlove office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Keppel Brittany Lauga keppel@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Kurwongbah Rachel Doherty office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Lockyer Ian Simons Ian.simons@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Lytton Ken Austin ken.austin@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Macalister Gabi Nehring gabi.nehring@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Mackay Elliot Jennings elliot.jennings@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Maiwar Ali King ali.king@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Maiwar Michael Berkman michael.berkman@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Mansfield Barbara Bell office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Maroochydore Daniel Bryar office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Maroochydore Julie McGlone julie.mcglone@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Maryborough Craig Armstrong office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
McConnel Grace Grace Brisbane.central@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
McConnel Kirsten Lovejoy kirsten.lovejoy@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
McConnel Kamala Emanuel kamalajane@gmail.com Socialist Alliance
Mermaid Beach Helen Wainwright helen.wainwright@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Miller Mark Bailey yeerongpilly@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Miller Deniz Clarke deniz.clarke@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Moggill Lawson McCane lawson.mccane@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Morayfield Gavin Behrens gavin.behrens@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Mount Ommaney Jenny Mulkearns jenny.mulkearns@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Mudgeeraba Rod Duncan rod.duncan@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Mulgrave Carmel Murray carmel.murray@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Murrumba Steven Miles Steven.Miles@QueenslandLabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Murrumba Jason Kennedy jason.kennedy@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Nanango John Harbison office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Nicklin Mick Tyrrell office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Ninderry Sue Etheridge sue.etheridge@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Noosa Phillip Jenkins office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Nudgee Ell-Leigh Ackerman office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Oodgeroo Tony Austin tony.austin@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Oodgeroo Brad Scott brad.scott@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Pine Rivers Nikki Boyd pine.rivers@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Pine Rivers Jack Margaritis office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Pumicestone Tony Longland tony.longland@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Redcliffe James Bovill office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Redlands Kim Richards kim.richards@queenslandlabor.org
Australian Labor Party
Redlands David Keogh office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Sandgate Miree Le Roy miree.leroy@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Scenic Rim Shannon Girard office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
South Brisbane Jackie Trad South.Brisbane@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
South Brisbane Amy MacMahon amy.macmahon@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Southern Downs Antonia van Geuns office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Southport Michelle Le Plastrier michelle.leplastrier@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Springwood Neil Cotter neil.cotter@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Stafford John Meyer john.meyer@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Stretton Anisa Nanaula office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Surfers Paradise Scott Turner office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Theodore Tina Meni tina.meni@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Toohey Gordon King gordon.king@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Toowoomba North Emmeline Chidley emmeline.chidley@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Toowoomba South Alyce Nelligan office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Townsville Rebecca Ryan office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Traeger Ronald Bird traeger@lnpq.org.au LNP
Warrego Ian Mazlin office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Waterford Shannon Fentiman waterford@parliament.qld.gov.au
Australian Labor Party
Waterford Kirsty Petersen kirsty.petersen@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Whitsunday Imogen Lindenberg office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens
Woodridge Jacob Rice office@qld.greens.org.au
Queensland Greens


*Please note: This list only contains the candidates who have said yes to Fair Agenda's pledge question. Other responses that have been received from candidates' will be released by Fair Agenda in coming days 

Fair Agenda has asked candidates to commit that, if elected, they will “vote to remove abortion from the criminal code, and support laws to ensure all Queenslanders can safely and legally access full reproductive healthcare, without being harassed or intimidated." Specifically asking candidates if they would support three reforms (you can read the pledge question in full below).

Fair Agenda's pledge ask has also backed by The Human Rights Law Centre, Women’s Legal Service Queensland, White Ribbon and the Queensland Council of Unions.

 

Written by Tash Howson
07 November 2017
Written by Tash Howson
20 October 2017
Press release

Today’s Australian Human Rights Commission report has revealed that 6.9% of university students were sexually assaulted on at least one occasion in 2015 or 2016.

The report has found that 10% of students who were sexually assaulted in a university setting in 2015 or 2016 experienced the most recent incident at a university residence; and 21% experienced the most recent sexual assault at a university or residence social event.

Yet a recent survey by community group Fair Agenda has shown that right now most residences are failing to invest adequately in prevention.

Fair Agenda approached all of Australia’s university residences with a survey asking what, if any, training they provide to students and staff in consent and prevention sexual violence.

Of the 218 residences approached, just 129 have responded to the Fair Agenda survey so far. And of those, only 60 have indicated that they are involving a sexual assault service in the provision of this year’s student training.

“It’s not good enough. We know that sexual assault is an issue at universities, and at residences – and they should be doing everything possible to ensure student safety. That includes investing in prevention and consent training.” Says Renee Carr, Executive Director of Fair Agenda.

“We hear from so many students that there’s a real desire to become better educated in this area. They don’t feel they know what it means to get informed consent.” Says Sharna Bremner, End Rape on Campus Australia.

“What’s more, it’s absolutely critical that any staff responsible for student welfare receive training in how to provide an appropriate response to someone who has just been through this kind of trauma. Right now many staff are not equipped to respond appropriately - meaning that students who work up the courage to try and report what's happened to them are sometimes being re-traumatised through that process." She added.

The data released today also shows that 63% of people who saw another student being sexually assaulted in 2016 did not take action in response to the incident.

Ms Carr added: “Residences should be training students and staff around preventing sexual violence – to make sure they understand things like consent and prevention, how to respond appropriately if somebody discloses that they’ve been raped, and how to safely intervene if you see someone acting predatorily towards one of your friends.”

“It’s also vital that training is being delivered by experts – which means involving a sexual assault service. But so far less than half of the residences who have responded to Fair Agenda’s survey have indicated that they are doing that. Students deserve better." Ms Carr concluded. 

The full results of Fair Agenda’s residence survey can be accessed at www.fairagenda.org/residences_survey

 

MEDIA CONTACT

Renee Carr, media@fairagenda.org 0435 597 976

 

Available for comment:

Renee Carr, Executive Director of Fair Agenda 0435 597 976

Sharna Bremner, End Rape on Campus Australia, 0401 02 249

Nina Funnell, End Rape on Campus Australia Ambassador 0438 479 831

Allison Henry, The Hunting Ground Australia Project, 0410 690 910

 

Fast facts on Fair Agenda’s survey:

  • Residences approached with survey: 218 
  • Residences who have responded to the survey: 129   

Of those:

o Residences who are training all students in preventing sexual violence: 106

o Residences that are involving experts from a sexual assault service in student training: 60

o Residences that are training all staff w welfare responsibilities in preventing and responding to sexual violence: 107

o Residences that are involving experts from a sexual assault service in that staff training: 66

Written by Renee Carr
01 August 2017

Great news! After weeks of campaign pressure, Australia’s Universities have just announced that they will establish the dedicated specialist counselling hotline for students affected by sexual assault that Fair Agenda members have helped call for!

Just last month survivor advocates revealed that Universities around the country were leaving survivors of sexual violence without adequate support. That students who had been raped or sexually assaulted during their studies were being told they would have to wait up to four weeks for a university counselling appointment, and that others who had dropped out of their degrees as a result of their assault were being refused access to university counselling services altogether.

It was a system that was failing student survivors. And things were about to get much worse, with an upcoming report on sexual violence at universities expected to trigger even more disclosures and demand for services in just a few weeks.

Then student group End Rape on Campus and survivor advocate Nina Funnell launched a call for action -- and Fair Agenda members stepped up and helped them build the pressure on universities to stop leaving rape survivors without adequate support.

In just a few days thousands of us signed the petition calling for Universities to fund the hotline, and shared powerful messages urging the Vice Chancellors and Universities Australia to stop leaving students without the support they need, including members who shared powerful messages like:

“This hotline would have changed my life and saved me years of suffering if it had existed years ago. Let's make things better for future.”

"Before I retired 20 years ago I was an academic member of an Australian university. I am appalled to hear that all this time later an issue over which I and other women campaigned is still current."

"A timely response and ability to ensure all students affected by sexual assault have access to decent counsellors trained in trauma counselling is crucial if the student is going to be able to recover... Universities need to take responsibility for this."

Then, ahead of a key meeting, Fair Agenda delivered your messages and petition signatures of support to all 39 Vice Chancellors, and the head of Universities Australia -- to make sure they knew how many alumni, students, survivors and community members backed the call for them to ensure best practice, trauma informed counselling is provided to students who have been affected by violence on campus. And just how many people would be watching and awaiting their decision.

And, together with End Rape on Campus, survivor advocate Nina Funnell and the National Union of Students – Fair Agenda members' advocacy worked! Today Universities Australia announced that they will establish a dedicated specialist counselling hotline for students affected by sexual violence during their studies.

It’s a huge win that will make a difference to the thousands of current and former students who are expected to need this service.

Together, the actions of Fair Agenda members are helping to drive really important wins that are improving the lives of tens of thousands of women.

This is a really important win. But it’s not the only thing that needs to change if we’re going to address the problem of sexual assault on campus. We also need to ensure all residences are providing training in consent and preventing sexual violence. Can you add your support to that campaign as well?

-More info-

Victory for students: Free hotline announced for victims of sexual assault, News.com.au, 22 July 2017.

Written by Renee Carr
24 July 2017

Australia’s National Standards for the primary prevention of sexual assault through education note that sexual assault prevention educators need to have competencies in: knowledge of primary prevention concepts (including theories of attitude and behaviour change), knowledge about the problem of sexual violence and an ability to respond to disclosures.

These National Standards also highlight that the inclusion of risk-avoidance discourse and advice in rape prevention education can do more harm than good. For example: telling women to avoid rape by not drinking, or focusing on self-defence for women, and not exploring strategies for perpetrators to manage their own behaviour.

Further, the recent 'On Safe Ground' Good practice guide for Australian Universities from the Australian Human Rights Centre recommends that sexual violence prevention education programs must be: specifically designed for the student-university environment; delivered by specailist trainers; available in different modes (such as online and face-to-face); and sustained and conducted every year for new staff and annual student intakes.

Below is a list of sexual assault services that have indicated to Fair Agenda that they can provide trainings for university residence contexts that comply with the National Standards:

 

The Full Stop Foundation (nationwide)

The Full Stop Foundation of Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia have recently developed a range of educational resources and trainings specifically for university staff and students that are considered the gold standard in this area. This includes a Train the Trainer program.

Website: http://www.fullstopfoundation.org.au/MainMenu/Training/Sex-Safety-Respect

Phone: (02) 8585 0371
Email: training@fullstopfoundation.org.au

 

NSW Rape Crisis (New South Wales)

This service provides training via the Full Stop Foundation, as outlined above.

 

Canberra Rape Crisis (ACT and surrounding region)

Website: www.crcc.org.au

Phone: (02) 6287 3618

 

Centre for Sexual Assault (Victoria)

Website: http://www.casahouse.com.au/
Phone: (03) 9635 3610

Email: casa@thewomens.org.au

 

Yarrow Place (SA)

Phone: (08) 8226 8777

Email: info@yarrowplace.sa.gov.au

 

SARC (WA)

Phone: (08) 6458 1820

Email: SARCTraining@health.wa.gov.au

www.kemh.health.wa.gov.au/services/sarc

 

Ruby Gae (NT)

Phone: (08) 8945 0155

Website: www.rubygae.net.au

educator@rubygae.net.au

 

You can see the list of which University residences are or are not providing expert driven training in this area at: http://fairagenda.org/residences_survey

*This list is a work in progress. Do know of a service that complies with the National Standards that should be added? Get in touch via info@fairagenda.org. 

Written by Renee Carr
10 July 2017
← Previous  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10    15  16  Next →